Built on a Tradition of Excellence

SMS Class of 2018

June 07, 2018

Stratton Mountain School is proud to announce the graduation of the Class of 2018. The twenty-three seniors will graduate on Saturday, June 9, 2018, at 10:00 in the morning. Kim Reichhelm, a member of the SMS Class of 1978 and professional skier, will return to campus as the graduation speaker.

The Class of 2018 has earned academic and athletic success during their years at SMS. In February, Freeskier Caroline Claire competed in the 2018 Winter Olympics in PyeongChang, South Korea and then went on to win her first World Cup title at the FIS World Cup Slopestyle in Seiser Alm, Italy. In May, she was named to the U.S. Freeskiing Pro Team after three years on the Rookie Team. Likewise, senior Ben Ogden was named to the U.S. Cross Country Ski Team after a successful season in which he was Junior National Champion and a Junior World Medalist. Mehana Koch and Evan Wetzel were recognized as National Merit Scholarship Commended students this fall, receiving letters of recognition for their outstanding academic promise.

Enrollment plans for the Class of 2018 include Colby College, Middlebury College, Boston College, Vanderbilt University, University of Vermont, Northeastern University, and Bates College, among many others.

Stratton Mountain School provides a unique environment that offers each student the opportunity to pursue excellence in competitive winter sports and college preparatory academics while developing strong personal values. The school has helped more than 100 alumni make national teams, and 46 go on to compete in the Olympics. SMS alumni have won a combined total of six Olympic medals and have captured 75 Olympic Team placements.

Front Row (L to R): Leah Montello, West Dover, VT; Lauren Hilgert, Guilford, CT; Emma Katko, Essex, CT; Annie Parkhurst, Weston, CT; Caroline Claire, Manchester Center, VT; Evan Wetzel, Skaneateles, NY.

Second Row (L to R): Jacob Melnik, Montreal, Canada; Henrik de Jounge, Fairfield, CT; Mae Chalmers, Landgrove, VT; Spencer Serels, Westport, CT; Nina Reichhelm, Westport, CT; Ariana Cakala, Warsaw, Poland; Mehana Koch, Peru, VT; Adam Witkowski, Peru, VT.

Third Row (L to R): Danya Boudreau-Golfman, Marlow, NH; Ben Ogden, Landgrove, VT; Lillian Fisher, Brattleboro, VT; Stewart Olson, Ludlow, VT; Liam Mooney, Manchester, VT.

Back Row (L to R): Eli Eppolito, Londonderry, VT; Tyler Willoughby, Gypsum, CO; Zander Martin, York, ME; Michael Rose, Peru, VT.

Enrollment Plans
Danya Boudreau-Golfman – University of Colorado, Boulder
Ariana Cakala – Fordham University
Mae Chalmers – Middlebury College
Caroline Claire – Boston College
Henrik de Jounge – Vanderbilt University
Eli Eppolito – University of New Hampshire
Lillian Fisher – Colby College
Lauren Hilgert – University of Vermont
Emma Katko – The New School
Mehana Koch – Wellesley College
Zander Martin – Bates College
Jacob Melnik – Queen’s College
Leah Montello – Colby College
Liam Mooney – University of Vermont
Ben Ogden – University of Vermont
Stewart Olson – University of Denver
Annie Parkhurst – Bucknell University
Nina Reichhelm – Boston College
Michael Rose – Norwich University
Spencer Serels – Northeastern University
Evan Wetzel – Clarkson University
Tyler Willoughby – PG Year in Tahoe, CA
Adam Witkowski – PG Year with the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation

©2019 Schoolyard. All rights reserved. Site by schoolyard. Sitemap